Soccer
September 9, 2016

(London, Ontario) – The Fanshawe Women's and Men's Soccer teams will open the regular season on Saturday, September 10th at home versus the Conestoga Condors.  The Women's game will start at 12pm and will mark the debut of new Falcon's Women's Soccer Head Coach Mike Marcoccia.  He hopes to take the Falcons to new heights and improve on the strong regular season record that the team had last year.  The Men's game will follow, starting at 2pm.  Last season, the Men's Soccer team went 9-1-1 and won the OCAA Bronze medal and will look to continue their dominant play this year.  Both teams won the West Division last season and have returning their respective OCAA Most Valuable Players in Jade Kovacevic (Women's) and Brandon Mendes (Men's).

 

On Saturday, September 24th Fanshawe's Falcons Fest will be taking place, as the soccer teams host the Redeemer Royals beginning at 12pm.

 

The soccer Provincial Championships will take place October 27th to 29th, with the Men's tournament being hosted by Redeemer College and the Women's taking place at St. Clair College.

 

The regular season league schedules for the soccer teams are attached below and available at www.fanshawec.ca/athletics.

 

 

2016-17 Fanshawe Women's Soccer Varsity Regular Season Soccer Schedule

 

DATE

OPPONENT/EVENT

LOCATION

TIME

Sat., Sept. 10

vs. Conestoga Condors

Home

12:00pm

Wed., Sept. 14

@ Redeemer Royals

Away

5:00pm

Sat., Sept. 17

@ Mohawk Mountaineers

Away

2:00pm

Wed., Sept. 21

vs. Lambton Lions

Home

5:00pm

Sat., Sept. 24

vs. Redeemer Royals (FALCONS FEST)

Home

12:00pm

Sun., Oct. 2

@ Conestoga Condors

Away

1:00pm

Tue., Oct. 4

vs. St. Clair Saints

Home

5:00pm

Wed., Oct. 12

vs. Mohawk Mountaineers

Home

5:00pm

Sat., Oct. 15

@ Lambton Lions

Away

1:00pm

Tue., Oct. 18

@ St. Clair Saints

Away

6:00pm

 

 

2016-17 Fanshawe Men's Soccer Varsity Regular Season Soccer Schedule

 

DATE

OPPONENT/EVENT

LOCATION

TIME

Sat., Sept. 10

vs. Conestoga Condors

Home

2:00pm

Wed., Sept. 14

@ Redeemer Royals

Away

7:00pm

Sat., Sept. 17

@ Mohawk Mountaineers

Away

4:00pm

Thu., Sept. 22

vs. Lambton Lions

Home

5:00pm

Sat., Sept. 24

vs. Redeemer Royals (FALCONS FEST)

Home

2:00pm

Sun., Oct. 2

@ Conestoga Condors

Away

3:00pm

Wed., Oct. 5

vs. St. Clair Saints

Home

5:00pm

Tues., Oct. 11

vs. Mohawk Mountaineers

Home

5:00pm

Sat., Oct. 15

@ Lambton Lions

Away

3:00pm

Wed., Oct. 19

@ St. Clair Saints

Away

5:00pm

 

 

For further information, please contact:

 

Rob Thorpe

Sports Information Officer - Fanshawe College Athletics
1001 Fanshawe College Blvd. London, ON N5Y 5R6

Cell: 519-777-7849 | Office: 519-452-4430 x3923 | rthorpe@fanshawec.ca