April 6, 2018

(London, Ontario) – Fanshawe Athletics announced today that Riley Hogan (Badminton) has been named Fanshawe's Female Athlete of the Year and that Cole Jordan (Men's Volleyball) has been named Fanshawe's Male Athlete of the Year.  The announcement was made as part of the 51st Annual Fanshawe Athletics Awards Banquet held in the Oasis Student Centre at Fanshawe College.  The 2017-18 season saw the Falcons bring home a combined 20 medals, setting a new Fanshawe record for the most Provincial and National medals in one season. The Falcons also led the OCAA in National medals this season and set a Fanshawe record with six, surpassing last year's record of five.


Female Athlete of the Year: Riley Hogan – The 5th year student-athlete from Sault Ste. Marie, ON, had an extremely successful season. Hogan won the OCAA Badminton West Regional tournament without dropping a match, going a perfect 7-0 in Women's Singles. She then moved on to the Provincial Championship, where she won an OCAA Silver Medal in Women's Singles, something that hadn't been done at Fanshawe College in 30 years. She was named an OCAA All-Star and advanced to the CCAA Badminton National Championship where she captured the CCAA Bronze Medal.  The last time a Fanshawe Badminton Women's Singles student-athlete won a CCAA National Championship medal was in 1988.


Male Athlete of the Year: Cole Jordan – The 3rd year student-athlete from London, ON, was named the first OCAA Player of the Year in Fanshawe Men's Volleyball history. Jordan quickly established himself as a premier scorer, as he won the OCAA Scoring Title, averaging a league best 4.8 points per set. He was named an OCAA First Team All-Star and a CCAA All-Canadian, as he led the Falcons to their historic 18-0 OCAA regular season. Jordan was named to the OCAA Championship All-Star team for his excellent play in helping Fanshawe win the OCAA Championship. At the CCAA Men's Volleyball National Championship, the Falcons had their best ever finish, bringing home a CCAA Silver Medal. Jordan was named to the Championship's First All-Star team.


The following is the complete list of award winners:


Female Athlete of the Year – Riley Hogan (Badminton)

Male Athlete of the Year – Cole Jordan (Volleyball)

Les Zoltai Award – Zev Weisdorf (Baseball, Badminton)

Jim Matchett Memorial Scholarship – Haly Hawkins (Basketball) and David Gundrum (Volleyball)

Mike Lindsay Leadership Award – Haly Hawkins (Basketball)

World Transplant Games Legacy Badminton Award – Allan Pao (Badminton)

The Fowler Kennedy Varsity Award – Angelica Muscedere (Curling)


CCAA Academic All-Canadians:


Jordan Kadlecik – Men's Cross Country

Alastair Thompson – Men's Cross Country

David Gundrum – Men's Volleyball

Chelsea Zavitz – Women's Soccer

Logan James – Men's Curling

Samantha Lees – Women's Curling


Cross Country Running:


Female Most Valuable Runner – Janelle Hanna

Female Rookie of the Year – Nicole Sharma

Male Most Valuable Runner – Jordan Kadlecik

Male Rookie of the Year – Kyle Luyt



Female Most Valuable Player – Mery Tarigan

Male Most Valuable Player – Thomas Code

Male Rookie of the Year – Blake Mackey



Female Most Valuable Player – Riley Hogan

Female Rookie of the Year – Lisa Nguyen

Male Most Valuable Player – Sahil Sahil

Male Rookie of the Year – Sahil Sahil


Women's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Chelsea Zavitz

Rookie of the Year – Allison Pike


Men's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Alberto Barquin

Rookie of the Year – Michael Sneddon


Women's Softball:

Most Valuable Player – Jacey Lochert

Rookie of the Year – Ali Bergman


Men's Baseball:

Most Valuable Player – Tyler Wood

Rookie of the Year – Brendan Robertson


Women's Volleyball:

Most Valuable Player – Meghan Morelli

Rookie of the Year – Katie Stewart


Men's Volleyball:

Most Valuable Player – Cole Jordan

Rookie of the Year – Joseph Clelland


Women's Basketball:

Most Valuable Player – Mikhaila Wright

Rookie of the Year – Sydney Kendellen


Men's Basketball:

Most Valuable Player – Sean Clendinning

Rookie of the Year – Hanani Ujullu


Women's Indoor Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Amber-Lea Hodgins

Rookie of the Year – Allison Pike


Men's Indoor Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Bradley Heath

Rookie of the Year – Joe Willingham-Murphy



Female Most Valuable Player – Kaitlyn Poirier

Female Rookie of the Year – Paige Tupper

Male Most Valuable Player – Charlie Richard

Male Rookie of the Year – Owen Tester


– 30 –