Fanshawe Athletics
April 8, 2014

(London, Ontario) – Fanshawe Athletics announced today that Kaitlyn Kelly (Women's Volleyball) has been named Fanshawe's Female Athlete of the Year and that Mathieu Poulin (Men's Volleyball) has been named Fanshawe's Male Athlete of the Year. The announcement was made as part of the 47th Annual Fanshawe Athletics Awards Ceremony held in the James A. Colvin Atrium at Fanshawe College.

Female Athlete of the Year: Kaitlyn Kelly

– After a year away from the sport, Kelly returned to the Fanshawe Women's Volleyball team as motivated as ever. Her work ethic and leadership on and off the court helped propel the Women's Volleyball team to a Fanshawe record 13 match winning streak and their first OCAA final appearance in 42 years. After being named as the Fanshawe College Kickoff Tournament MVP, Kelly finished second in the OCAA in scoring at 4.6 points/set, led the OCAA in kills/set at 3.76 and was an OCAA West Division First Team All-Star. At Provincial's, she was named as an OCAA Championship Tournament All-Star in leading the Falcons to the first OCAA Silver medal in the program's history. Kelly is in her third year with the Fanshawe Women's Volleyball program and is currently enrolled in the General Arts and Science program.

Male Athlete of the Year: Mathieu Poulin

– Poulin played a pivotal role this season in the success of the Falcons Men's Volleyball team. Not only did he tackle a new position (left-side), but also excelled there enroute to winning the OCAA West Division scoring title. He led the team in aces, kills, digs and points, propelling the Falcons to an overall season record of 35-8 and an OCAA Bronze medal. The medal was the first OCAA medal for the Fanshawe Men's Volleyball program since 2007, and only the fifth in their history. This season, Poulin was named a Tournament All-Star at both the Fanshawe College and Seneca Sting Tournaments, as well as the Niagara College Tournament MVP. He was the OCAA West Division Scoring Leader with 5.1 points/set as well as both an OCAA West Division First Team All-Star and OCAA Championship Tournament All-Star. Poulin is currently taking the Business Foundations program and was considered a team leader not only on the court, but in the film room, weight room and classroom, where he maintained a 3.7 GPA. Poulin is only the third Fanshawe Men's Volleyball player to be named as a CCAA All-Canadian.

Jim Matchett Memorial Scholarship: Jordan MacNeil

– Just like Matchett, MacNeil has demonstrated what it means to be a part of the Fanshawe Athletics department in almost every aspect. As a student employee, MacNeil set the example for all other student employees on how to be successful. For his efforts, he has twice been named a Student Leadership and Training Award recipient. In his second year of the General Arts and Science program, he maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.58. He was also a key member of the Men's Volleyball program this season. He helped the team in a number of ways, both on and off the court. His coaches referred to him as the ‘heart and soul' of the team. MacNeil also volunteered his time for a number of initiatives representing Fanshawe Athletics at college open houses, gradations, kids' camps, school programs, and many more.

Les Zoltai Award: Derek Braun

– A third year Police Foundations student at Fanshawe, Braun is also a member of the Bronze medal winning Men's Volleyball program. Braun has improved his play in every season, and this year, helped the Falcons win their first OCAA medal since 2007. He was also selected to represent the Falcons and compete in the 2014 OCAA Men's Volleyball All-Star Game. Over the last year, Braun has worked in the Athletics Department as an Athletic Assistant. He is also a recipient of the Student Leadership and Training Award for his contributions to Fanshawe Athletics.

The following is a complete list of award winners:

Female Athlete of the Year – Kaitlyn Kelly

Male Athlete of the Year – Mathieu Poulin

Jim Matchett Memorial Scholarship – Jordan MacNeil

Les Zoltai Award – Derek Braun

Mike Lindsay Leadership Award – Mahendrabhai (Maddy) Makwana

World Transplant Games Legacy Badminton Award – Alex Duong

The John (RJ) Beaumont Falcons Athlete Spirit Award – Larissa McBean

The Mike Orr Athletic Award for Women's Falcons Soccer – Katie Parker

Cross Country Running:

Female Most Valuable Runner – Jill Tereschyn

Female Rookie of the Year – Sarah Deme

Male Most Valuable Runner – Clint Smith

Male Rookie of the Year – Luke Deighan


Female Most Valuable Player – Danielle Wilkinson

Male Most Valuable Player – Spencer Dunseith

Male Rookie of the Year – Spencer Dunseith


Female Most Valuable Player – Riley Hogan

Female Rookie of the Year – Courtney Brewer

Male Most Valuable Player – Alex Duong

Male Rookie of the Year – Alex Dominski

Women's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Alex Chesney

Rookie of the Year – Chelsea Britnell

Men's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Steve Hepton

Rookie of the Year – Brandon Mendes

Women's Basketball:

Most Valuable Player – Ali Vlasman

Rookie of the Year – Kiera Serodio

Men's Basketball:

Most Valuable Player – Bryan McDonald

Rookie of the Year – Alex Thompson

Women's Volleyball:

Most Valuable Player – Kaitlyn Kelly

Rookie of the Year – Darian Gropp

Men's Volleyball:

Most Valuable Player – Mathieu Poulin

Rookie of the Year – Nate Van Camp


Female Most Valuable Player – Kaitlyn Knipe

Female Rookie of the Year – Christina Borgs

Male Most Valuable Player – DJ Ronaldson

Male Rookie of the Year – Kelly Schuh

Women's Indoor Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Kayli McGuffin

Rookie of the Year – Chelsea Britnell

Men's Indoor Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Michael Pereira

Rookie of the Year – Brandon Mendes


For further information, please contact:

Rob Thorpe

Sports Information Officer - Fanshawe College Athletics 1001 Fanshawe College Blvd. London, ON N5Y 5R6

Cell: 519-777-7849

| Office: 519-452-4430 x3923 |