Fanshawe Falcons
April 10, 2015

(London, Ontario) – Fanshawe Athletics announced today that Shannon Kee (Women's Curling) has been named Fanshawe's Female Athlete of the Year and that Paul Lytwynec (Men's Baseball) has been named Fanshawe's Male Athlete of the Year. The announcement was made as part of the 48th Annual Fanshawe Athletics Awards Ceremony held in the James A. Colvin Atrium at Fanshawe College.

Female Athlete of the Year: Shannon Kee – Shannon was both captain and skip of the Women's Curling team this year. As the skip, she was instrumental in the success of the Falcons all season, making the tough decisions on shot selection, strategy and all the big plays down the stretch. In the OCAA Provincial Championships, the Falcons finished the tournament with a record of 7-1 enroute to the gold medal. This gave the Fanshawe Women back to back OCAA titles for the first time in their history. At the CCAA National Championships, the dominant play continued, finishing the tournament with a record of 7-2, again capturing the gold. Some of her major accomplishments this season include: CCAA National Champion, CCAA Tournament All-Star, OCAA Provincial Champion, OCAA First Team All-Star and OCAA Women's Curling Athlete of the Week – Feb. 17th. Shannon also excelled in the classroom where she is currently enrolled in the Respiratory Therapy program and maintains a 3.79 cumulative GPA. Shannon's mental toughness and calmness under pressure were evident over and over again during the OCAA and CCAA championships. These leadership character traits gave Shannon and her teammates the confidence they needed to overcome all kinds of challenges and to win the National Championship. This marks Shannon's second National Championship during her Fanshawe Career (2013).

Male Athlete of the Year: Paul Lytwynec – In the Men's Baseball program's inaugural season, Paul led the team to a third place finish in the regular season with a record of 11-7. Paul led the team in a number of statistical categories including runs (24), hits (29), doubles (7), RBIs (20), batting average (.468) and slugging percentage (.661). At the OCAA Provincial Championships, Paul helped the Falcons win the OCAA Bronze medal, finishing the championships 3 for 6 at the plate with three runs scored, while providing flawless defensive play at shortstop. Some of his major accomplishments this season include: OCAA Bronze Medalist, OCAA League All-Star, OCAA All-Academic, and OCAA Athlete of the Week – Sept. 16th. Paul also excelled in the classroom where he is currently finishing his second year of the Police Foundations program, while maintaining an impressive 4.14 GPA. He was also the recipient of the Les Zoltai Award for his leadership and excellence.

Les Zoltai Award: Paul Lytwynec – Paul is best known for his achievements on the baseball field, as the Captain and starting shortstop for the Fanshawe Men's Baseball team. In the program's first season in the league, Paul led the Falcons to an OCAA Bronze medal. His accomplishments on the field were amazing including an impressive .468 batting average and 20 runs batted in, both good for second place in the entire OCAA. He was named an OCAA League All-Star and was the OCAA Athlete of the Week on Sept. 16th. While an All-Star on the field, Paul is all of that and more off of it. His character and leadership quickly shaped the baseball program in its inaugural season. Paul conducts himself in a very professional manner both on and off the field of play and is a perfect example of a leader. He has a tremendous work ethic to go along with being a great teammate and mentor. What may not be known about Paul is his accomplishments off the field. He was a member of both the Police Foundations volunteer committee and the Fanshawe student success peer liaison committee. Paul was a college open house ambassador, a peer note-taker as well as a peer tutor in the Police Foundations program. Paul also excelled in the classroom where he is currently finishing his second year of the Police Foundations program, while maintaining a 4.14 GPA. He was an OCAA All-Academic and is a well-deserving recipient of the Les Zoltai Award.

Jim Matchett Memorial Scholarship: Nicole Bernardi – This was Nicole's first year with the Fanshawe Women's Cross Country team. She is enrolled in the Construction Carpentry Techniques program where she is a model student-athlete, maintaining a 4.06 GPA. Nicole was named the Women's team captain, even though she was in her rookie season with the Falcons. She was very successful on the field, posting second place finishes at both the Fanshawe and Seneca meets, before again finishing second and taking home the silver medal at the OCAA Provincial Championships. Nicole went on to compete at the CCAA National Championships where she finished in tenth place. For her efforts, Nicole was named a member of the OCAA All-Ontario First-Team, a CCAA Second Team All-Star, a CCAA All-Canadian, and a CCAA Academic All-Canadian. Her positive attitude and burning desire to reach her full potential brought out the best in all those around her. Her commitment to team building and strong communication skills are rare in a rookie student-athlete, making Nicole an excellent recipient of the Jim Matchett Award.

The following is a complete list of award winners:

Female Athlete of the Year – Shannon Kee

Male Athlete of the Year – Paul Lytwynec

Les Zoltai Award – Paul Lytwynec

Jim Matchett Memorial Scholarship – Nicole Bernardi

Mike Lindsay Leadership Award – Giuseppe Piccolo

World Transplant Games Legacy Badminton Award – Jodi Grobbecker

The John (RJ) Beaumont Falcons Athlete Spirit Award – Laura Vere

The Mike Orr Athletic Award for Women's Falcons Soccer – Daniella Strano

Cross Country Running:

Female Most Valuable Runner – Nicole Bernardi

Female Rookie of the Year – Morgan Hendriks

Male Most Valuable Runner – Seth Marcaccio

Male Rookie of the Year – Ryan Foott


Male Most Valuable Player – Spencer Dunseith

Male Rookie of the Year – Trevor Howard


Female Most Valuable Player – Riley Hogan

Female Rookie of the Year – Kori Frederick

Male Most Valuable Player – Alex Dominski

Male Rookie of the Year – Valliappan Padmanabhan

Women's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Katie Parker

Rookie of the Year – Danielle Austin

Men's Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Cedric N'Guessan

Rookie of the Year – Chris Brydie

Women's Softball:

Most Valuable Player – Kady Hawkins

Rookie of the Year – Alanna Gilmour

Men's Baseball:

Most Valuable Player – Paul Lytwynec

Rookie of the Year – Nate Grindstaff

Women's Volleyball:

Most Valuable Player – Darian Gropp

Rookie of the Year – Francis Ruiz

Men's Volleyball:

Most Valuable Player – Kyle Weber

Rookie of the Year – David Gundrum

Women's Basketball:

Most Valuable Player – Stephanie Antwi

Rookie of the Year – Natalie Warren

Men's Basketball:

Most Valuable Player – Adam Jespersen

Rookie of the Year – Trent Payne

Women's Indoor Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Maddison Durr

Rookie of the Year – Rae Tsukamoto

Men's Indoor Soccer:

Most Valuable Player – Brent Anderson

Rookie of the Year – Jacob Atkinson


Female Most Valuable Player – Shannon Kee

Female Rookie of the Year – Janelle Shapton

Male Most Valuable Player – Kelly Schuh

Male Rookie of the Year – Curtis Easter


For further information, please contact:

Rob Thorpe

Sports Information Officer - Fanshawe College Athletics

1001 Fanshawe College Blvd. London, ON N5Y 5R6

Cell: 519-777-7849 | Office: 519-452-4430 x3923 |