Cross Country
April 9, 2014

(London, Ontario) – The Fanshawe Men's Cross Country team received their National Championship rings on April 8th, after claiming their third National Championship in the past 4 years. The ring presentation took place during the 47th Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony in the James A. Colvin Atrium of Fanshawe College.

The Men's Cross Country team was led by Clint Smith, who claimed individual silver and his fourth Canadian Colleges Athletic Association (CCAA) individual medal in as many years. Running with Smith for the Men's title was Josh Lumani, Daniel Bright, Luke Deighan, Sean Coleshill and Matt Barnett. Other members of the Men's team included Josh Heuving, Kyle Golovchenko and Michael Donkers. The team's coaching staff consists of Head Coach John Loney, Assistant Coach Ron Becht, and Associate Coaches Ashley Vandervecht and Nancy Delorey.

Over the past five seasons, the Men's Cross Country team has been the best of the best in the province, and set an OCAA record by winning the Ontario College Athletic Association (OCAA) championship for five consecutive years.


For further information, please contact:

Rob Thorpe

Sports Information Officer - Fanshawe College Athletics 1001 Fanshawe College Blvd. London, ON N5Y 5R6

Cell: 519-777-7849

| Office: 519-452-4430 x3923 |