Default Image
June 10, 2014

Broadcast journalism students take six of nine scholarships at RTNDA.

Fanshawe College Broadcast Journalism students won six national scholarships out of nine available at the Radio, Television and Digital News Association (RTDNA) convention held in Toronto from June 5 to 7, 2014.

Each student won $2,000 from the Radio, Television and Digital News Foundation and a CNN gift bag.

The students were presented with their gifts during a luncheon that featured Brian Stelter of CNN as the guest speaker.

RTNDA 2014 winnersThe RTDNA has awarded scholarships for 35 years and Fanshawe students have won 61, the most of any school in Canada. Fanshawe was also the first school awarded the Bill Hutton Award for Excellence (2013).

Left to right in the photo are: Tom Fraser (Marketwired scholarship for first-year students), Victor Kaisar (BNN award for business reporting), Nicole Martin (COLD-FX award for a medical story), Martin Bauman (CBC Barbara Frum award for interviewing), Jenai Kershaw (Eric Murray/Canadian Press for visible minority) and Robert Springett (RTDNF scholarship for graduating student).

Broadcast Journalism coordinator Jim Van Horne was obviously proud.

"We are so happy that students can be rewarded in this way by the RTDNA," Van Horne says. "I know they appreciate the awards, but it is also important to be able to meet industry professionals and show their future boss what they can do at this conference. Our entire faculty is very happy for all our winners and all those who submitted."