February 25, 2016

(London, Ontario) – Nine members of the Fanshawe Falcons volleyball programs were honoured for their accomplishments this season as the OCAA handed out their 2016 league awards.


Patrick Johnston – OCAA Men's Volleyball Coach of the Year: For the third consecutive season, Johnston has been named the OCAA West Coach of the Year and this year, will represent Ontario as the nominee for the CCAA Coach of the Year. This also marks the second time that Johnston has won the overall OCAA Coach of the Year award (2013-14) in just his third season at Fanshawe. This season, Johnston led the Falcons to a first place finish in the OCAA West Division with a record of 16-2. His team was ranked nationally for the majority of the season, including the final five weeks of the year at #2 in Canada.


Sebastian Lethbridge – OCAA Rookie of the Year and OCAA Second Team All-Star: Lethbridge (London, ON) excelled for Fanshawe in his rookie season, leading the red and black to an OCAA-best 31% kill efficiency. His offensive flare created excellent opportunities for his attackers, allowing four of them to be in the top 15 in the OCAA in kill efficiency. Not only a stellar setter, he also sits first amongst OCAA setters in digs per set.


Derek Braun – OCAA First Team All-Star: Fifth year middle blocker Braun (Ridgetown, ON) has dominated at the net all season offensively and defensively. He has 99 kills and 31 blocks this season and will finish his career at Fanshawe with the most points in Falcons Men's Volleyball history (660 total points = 484 kills, 152 blocks ad 24 aces).


James Jackson – OCAA First Team All-Star: In his first season as a Falcon, Jackson (London, ON) led Fanshawe on offence with 3.4 points per set. In just 17 matches, Jackson had the most kills (153) and blocks (33) on the team. His versatility at the net, playing both in the middle and outside, has helped make the Falcons the most deadly attack in the OCAA.


Dave Gundrum – OCAA First Team All-Star: Gundrum (Port Elgin, ON) led the OCAA in digs per set (2.96) and compiled a total of 157 digs on the season. In his second year, his leadership and determination on the floor has solidified Fanshawe as one of the top defensive teams in the province.


David AuCoin – OCAA Second Team All-Star: After three and a half seasons as an outside hitter, AuCoin (Petewawa, ON) has transitioned to one of the best middle blockers in the OCAA. AuCoin finished the season second on the team with 110 kills and third on the team with 21 blocks.


Sean Pellow – OCAA Women's Volleyball West Coach of the Year: In his second season with the Falcons, Pellow reloaded the program and returned them to the OCAA Provincial Championships. Last season, Fanshawe finished in seventh place in the OCAA West Division and didn't make the playoffs. This season, with a team comprised of 10 rookies, he led the Falcons to a third place finish in the OCAA West Division with a record of 12-6 and will look to make some noise at the OCAA Provincial Championships.


Carley Nugteren – OCAA West Rookie of the Year and OCAA Second Team All-Star: In her first season with the Falcons, Nugteren (Woodstock, ON) was the starting right side for the Falcons, leading the team with 3.3 points per set. She finished the season with 130 kills, 23 aces and 15 blocks.


Renee McCormick – OCAA Second Team All-Star: In her first season with Fanshawe, McCormick (Waterloo, ON) was second in the team in scoring with 2.5 points per set. Whether as an outside hitter or in the middle, McCormick was a starter all season long and accumulated 112 kills, 9 aces and 16 blocks.



– 30 –


For further information, please contact:


Rob Thorpe
Sports Information Officer - Fanshawe Athletics
1001 Fanshawe College Blvd. London, ON N5Y 5R6
Office: 519-452-4430 x6105 | Cell: 519-777-7849