March 29, 2015

(London, Ontario) – The Fanshawe Women's Curling team was crowned 2015 CCAA National Champions last Saturday night in Olds, Alberta. In a rematch of the OCAA Provincial Championship final, the Women defeated the Humber Hawks in the Gold Medal game by a score of 4-2.

The Falcons Women's Curling team had an outstanding tournament, finishing in a three-way tie for first place in the round robin with a record of 5-2. The Women were edged by Humber in the tiebreaker and the Falcons would have to play in the semi-final versus the NAIT Ooks. Fanshawe would win the draw by a final score of 6-3 and head to the final to take on the Humber Hawks. Tied 2-2 after seven ends, Fanshawe scored one in the eighth end to take the lead. Leading 3-2 in the 10th end, Fanshawe forced Humber into a very difficult shot to tie but the attempt came up short and the Falcons won 4-2. Fanshawe would be crowned National Champions for the third time in the past four years. The Women's team was made up of skip Shannon Kee, vice Rachelle Vink, second Christina Borgs, lead Tess Bobbie and alternate Julie Clinton. Kee, Vink and Borgs were all named Championship All-Stars while Head Coach Barry Westman was given the top Women's Coach Award.

The Falcons Men's team also represented Fanshawe extremely well at the CCAA National Championships. The Men began the tournament slowly, starting just 1-3. The Falcons rebounded strong finishing the round robin with three straight victories, including wins over both the OCAA Gold Medal winning Sault Cougars and OCAA Silver Medal winning Fleming Knights. The wins pushed Fanshawe's record to 4-3, earning them a spot in a tiebreaker playoff game. Fanshawe defeated Olds in a tight game by a 5-4 count and would move on to the semi-final where they would defeat the defending CCAA National Champion MacEwan Griffins 11-8. In the final, Fanshawe and Fleming were tied through seven ends, but Fleming scored four over the next two ends and went on to win 8-4. Fanshawe would settle for the silver medal. The Men's team was made up of skip Kelly Schuh, vice Curtis Easter, second Jackson Cox, lead/alternate Billy Brian and lead/alternate Matt Pretty.

Next year, Fanshawe will be hosting the 2016 CCAA National Curling Championships from March 23-26, 2016 at the Highland Curling Club in London, Ontario.


For further information, please contact:

Rob Thorpe

Sports Information Officer - Fanshawe College Athletics 1001 Fanshawe College Blvd. London, ON N5Y 5R6

Cell: 519-777-7849 | Office: 519-452-4430 x3923 |