April 8, 2016

(London, Ontario) – The Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) announced today, the 2015-16 CCAA Academic All-Canadian award recipients and Fanshawe College had an impressive seven student-athletes receiving the honour. Fanshawe finished tied for third for the most recipients of the award in the entire CCAA. The CCAA Academic All-Canadian award is the CCAA's most prestigious student-athlete honour.  Honourees must attain academic honours at their institution in addition to having a high level of athletic achievement.


Fanshawe's recipients included:

Seth Marcaccio – Men's Cross Country

Ryan Foott – Men's Cross Country

Laura Vere – Women's Basketball

Christina Borgs – Women's Curling

Julie Clinton – Women's Curling

Sara Westman – Women's Curling

Derek Braun – Men's Volleyball


The Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) also handed out the 2015 Fall OCAA All-Academic Awards and Fanshawe had 16 recipients.  The award is presented to full-time varsity student-athletes that meet honour standards at their respective institutions.  The complete list of results are located on the OCAA website at


– 30 –



For further information, please contact:

Rob Thorpe
Sports Information Officer


Fanshawe Athletics
1001 Fanshawe College Blvd.  London, ON. N5Y 5R6
T: 519-452-4430 x6105 | C: 519-777-7849 | F: 519-452-4434