September 14, 2017

(London, Ontario) – The Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) announced today that Fanshawe College had a total of 20 National Scholar Award recipients for the 2016-17 season. The National Scholar Award is designed to recognize the outstanding academic accomplishments of CCAA student-athletes. To be recognized, a student-athlete must achieve honours standing at their institution in the current academic year.


Following is the complete list of Fanshawe student-athletes who were recipients of the 2016-17 National Scholar Award:


Morgan Hendriks, Cross Country

Ryan Foott, Cross Country

Jordan Kadlecik, Cross Country

Seth Marcaccio, Cross Country

Daniella Strano, Soccer

Jacob Atkinson, Soccer

Haly Hawkins, Basketball


Libby Furtado, Volleyball

Hunter Medd, Volleyball

Megan Morelli, Volleyball

Jack Daley, Volleyball

David Gundrum, Volleyball

Tarea Heshka, Badminton

Allan Pao, Badminton


Helen Ngu, Badminton

Trina Ngu, Badminton

Isabelle Allan, Curling

Samantha Lees, Curling

Kaitlyn Poirier, Curling

Janelle Shapton, Curling



– 30 –


For further information, please contact:


Nicole Carriere

Sports Information Officer - Fanshawe Athletics
1001 Fanshawe College Blvd. London, ON N5Y 5R6

Office: 519-452-4430 x6105 |