Playlist: "Quaran-tunes" from MIA students and alumni during the pandemic

Wednesday, March 17, 2021
Image
Image
Fanshawe College quarantunes Spotify playlist

March 17, 2021 marks one year since the Ontario government declared its first lockdown as part of the COVID-19 pandemic. For the last year we have experienced varying levels of social isolation, disruption to our regular social activities, changes to our work and work environments and a number of changes to our daily lives.

Music plays a key role in marking important events, often like a soundtrack to our lives: we remember the songs from our grade 8 graduation, our first school dances, our biggest heartbreaks and even just the songs we've enjoyed listening to with our friends. We also remember the tracks that helped us through the most challenging times of struggle, sadness or loss. 

While the music industry was hit hard by the pandemic, artists did not let it stop them. 

Today, as many of us reflect on the last year, we want to share something special with you. We reached out to a number of our Music Industry Arts (MIA) students and alumni and asked them to share music they released while in lockdown and they did not disappoint. We’re excited to share with you, "Quaran-tunes" - Music from Fanshawe MIA student and alumni, released during the pandemic.
 

Like our playlist? Share it! 

And be sure to follow our featured artists on Spotify and Instagram:

Brandon Watt @brandonwattofficial MIA 2019
Carlay @carlayreanmneal MIA 2020
City Limits @officialcitylimits Richard Hong and Josh Dozios, MIA 2020
Conrad @conradgalecki MIA 2020
Dubmatix @Dubmatix Recording Engineering 1993
Emma Whale @emmawhale_music MIA 2021
Emm Gryner @emm.gryner MIA 1995
Erick Martiz @erickmartiz MIA 2020
Evan Burrison @evanburrison MIA 2021
Fonzy @tonyfonzy MIA 2020
Half Moon Run @halfmoonrun Devon Portielje, MIA 2009
Haviah Mighty @haviahmighty MIA 2013
J. Revvy @fuckrevvy MIA 2022
Katherine Fischer @katherinefmusic MIA 2016 
Lost in Japan @lostinjapanband Addison Johnson, Chris Hoekstra, Nolan Peake and James Wiseman MIA 2017
Makinna Givens @makinnagivens.com MIA 2020
Matt Ballagh @mattballagh MIA 2021
Mikaila & Alex @mikailaandalex Alex Emrich MIA 2018, APP 2020
Nattra @neil_natt MIA 2020
New Friends @newfriendsmusic Stefan Boulineau, Ayden Miller and Cole Wilson MIA 2020
No Culture Icons @noclutureiconsband Josh Dozois, Richard Hong, Dylan Goonoo, Brandon Herrell, MIA 2020
Sarina Haggarty @sarinahaggarty MIA 2020
Sneaker Club @sneakerclubband Luke Van Bakel and Bryan Dowd MIA '19, APP 2020, John Gould and Daniel Wagg MIA 2019
Syren @syren_music_ MIA 2021
Taabu @taabumusic MIA 2016
Texas King, @texaskingband Jordan Macdonald, Colin Gray and Phil Spina MIA 2013
Weekend Goodbye @weekendgoodbye Dylan Dennis Goonoo, MIA 2020, Sebastian Balenzano, MIA 2023, Miguel Salas and Amanda Volero
Yung Iceee @yungiceee MIA 2020

Subscribe to our Blog