Tuesday, May 24, 2022
profile of student sitting at desk leaning on left hand.

Grief doesn't only happen when someone we love dies. It can happen when an important relationship ends or is “in limbo.” Grief also occurs when our life changes in significant ways – it can be due to a trauma, a newly diagnosed medical condition or an ending to specific hopes about life.   
You may have heard about the "stages of grief," but may not know these were developed to reflect the experiences of people with terminal illness. These stages were not meant to apply to others, such as loved ones of the person dying. Grief is an individual experience; each person goes through it differently and that is okay.
If you think you are dealing with grief and would like some help with it, our counsellors are here to help you. Call 519-452-4282 to make an appointment or email counseling@fanshawec.ca.

To read the full article, 5 Stages of Grief: Myth or Reality? visit: https://www.choosingtherapy.com/stage-of-grief/ 
Shirley Porter

Counsellor/Registered Psychotherapist

Coordinator, Counselling Services

Share this Blog Post!

Subscribe to our Blog