IT Service Desk - Password resets

Password reset information

Dual credit courses

What is it?

The dual credit program allows you to get a head start towards your future. It’s easy. You can take college or apprenticeship courses while you are still in high school! Earn credits  towards both your high school diploma and a postsecondary education. Put yourself on the track to a successful transition to college or an apprenticeship program while gaining a better perspective on your career  path.

At the present time Fanshawe offers the following dual credit models:  Day Away Dual Credit, Adult Dual Credit, SWAC and OYAP.

Check with your guidance counsellor or student success teacher at your high school to see if you meet the required criteria to be considered for the program. If you meet the criteria for a Dual Credit course your guidance counsellor or student success teacher will provide you with an application form. Be sure to complete all parts of the form including an email address that you want Fanshawe to send information to once you have been accepted into the program.

Day Away Dual Credits:

This is where selected students come to Fanshawe for one day or portion of a day to take one or two college classes taught by a college professor. They are bussed to and from their high school one day a week.

Day Away Dual Credit course descriptions

For more information about Day Away Dual Credits contact your home school guidance counsellor or school board lead:
LDCSB (London District Catholic School Board): TBA
TVDSB (Thames Valley District School Board): David Carnevale (d.carnevale@tvdsb.ca)
AMDSB (Avon Maitland District School Board): Jim Brintnell (james.brintnell@ed.amdsb.ca)
HPCDSB (Huron Perth Catholic District School Board): Mark Flanagan (mflanagan@hpcdsb.ca)

BWDSB (Blue Water District School Board): Anita Koeslag (anita_koeslag@bwdsb.on.ca)

BGCDSB (Bruce Grey Catholic District School Board): Paulette Lippert (paulette_lippert@bgcdsb.org)

Adult Dual Credits:

Adult Dual Credit course descriptions

For more information about Adult Dual Credits, contact LDCSB (Centre for Lifelong Learning) at 519-675-4436 or TVDSB (Wheable) at 519-452-2660.

You may also contact:
LDCSB: Sean Pynaert (spynaert@ldcsb.ca)
TVDSB: David Carnevale (d.carnevale@tvdsb.ca)

BWDSB: Anita Koeslag (anita_koeslag@bwdsb.on.ca)

BGCDSB: Paulette Lippert (paulette_lippert@bgcdsb.org)

HPCDSB: Aideen Moss (amoss@hpdsb.ca)

AMDSB: Kendra Brohman (kendra.brohman@ed.amdsb.ca)

School Within a College (SWAC):

Students are selected by school boards to participate in this unique opportunity.

Students in the SWAC program take at least 1 dual credit course and up to 4 OSSD courses per semester. The Dual Credit courses are taught by College Professors and the OSSD courses are taught by Secondary School teachers. This program is unique in that it occurs completely on a College campus.

The change in environment has shown a positive increase in success rates for students who have struggled in a typical high school environment.
More info on School Within a College (SWAC)

Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program (OYAP) Level 1:

Students enrolled in a OYAP Level 1 program must have a high propensity for the skilled trade as established by the local School Board. These program typically run following the College’s Winter term (late April to mid June). Students in these programs will attend the College Mon. to Fri. in accordance with the standards set out in the specific trade. Successful candidates will receive a Level 1 certification that is recognized by the MLTSD as well as 2 OSSD credits. We will be offering OYAP Level 1 programs for students in all of our partner School Boards. For more information please contact your local School Board representative.
 
AMDSB: Jodi Froud (Jodi.froud@ed.amdsb.ca)
BGCDSB: Dave Barrett (dave_barrett@bwdsb.on.ca)
BWDSB: Dave Barrett (dave_barrett@bwdsb.on.ca)
HPCDSB: Mark Flanagan (mflanagan@hpcdsb.ca)
LDCSB: Vanessa Di Marcelli (vdimarcelli@ldcsb.ca)
TVDSB: Sharon Devries (tv44756@tvdsb.ca)
 
For more information on OYAP please visit www.oyap.com
For further information on Fanshawe Apprenticeship programs visit Apprenticeship Info for Prospective Students

Costs?

There is absolutely no cost to students!

The School-College-Work Initiative (SCWI) program covers all transportation, tuition and materials – including Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) where required.

The fine print…

Want to know more? Visit these sites for more info about dual credits: